Reviews

 Testimonials from RAW Travellers

2016 Reviews of Walking the Camino De Santiago with RAW Travel

James Kerin, Ballarat, VIC – October 2016 – Sarria to Santiago

We enjoyed every day of the walk. The longer days were testing but a great sense of satisfaction when completed. The accomodation was excellent, always very clean, good bathrooms with plenty of hot water and comfortable beds. The included breakfasts were certainly enough to get you going for your day’s walking. When evening meals were available at your accomodation the quality and choice was very good, delicious Spanish food. The baggage transfers were faultless.

 

Vicki Foote, Adelaide – September 2016 – Sarria to Santiago

Walking with a destination in mind each day combined with the anticipation of what we would experience and the people we would meet made each day a highlight in itself.

 

Sandra Bowmer, Sydney – September 2016 – Sarria to Santiago

Had a very memorable time walking the Camino from Sarria to Santiago De Compostela over 5 days. The first day was very warm but lots of shade. The weather changed that afternoon and we had rain for the next 4 days. All our gear was tested on the 2nd day but our spirits could not be dampened. So glad to share this special journey with my son. Our luggage turned up without a hitch each day and all the accommodation was excellent. The only comment I would make is that 3 of our nights were in farm houses where we had no option but to eat in their dining room. The food was very good but more expensive than what was available in the towns. The only other issue was that in 2 places where we had booked a twin room the hotel was providing a double room. In both instances the hotels were marvellous and were able to sort something out so we didn’t have to share a bed!

 

Magnus McNeil-Windle, Perth – September 2016 – Sarria to Santiago

Lovely accommodation in characterful restored farmhouses and hotels. Staff were all friendly and helpful. All logistics worked perfectly including local taxis to places off the Camino.

 

Melinda Robinson, Brisbane – September 2016 – Sarria to Santiago

It was a great introduction into the pilgrims life.

 

Allan Murray, Sydney – September 2016 – Sarria to Santiago

I loved the ease with which administrative and logistical arrangements were made and implemented. Everything went smoothly although it was good to know there was local backup if I needed it. RAW Travel provided a quality service.

 

Hoon Leng Ong, Perth, WA – September 2016 – Sarria to Santiago

Everything went as planned. The places that we stayed were lovely – we are now thinking of another trip to walk a different section of the Camino.

 

Timothy Mcqueen, Melbourne – September 2016 – St Jean to Logrono

Everything was fantastic. We stayed in some beautiful places, Luggage transfers all worked perfectly. Personally I would have preferred to walk more of the taxi sections.

 

Greg Peach, Sydney – September 2016 – St Jean to Logrono

We had a great time. The weather was perfect and the knees held up over the Pyrenees. It was so nice to have our boys with us to enjoy the experience together.

 

Kay Ngaire Smith, Auckland NZ – September 2016 – Leon to Santiago

I was apprehensive. 73 & travelling alone. Met with RAW travel & immediately had my questions answered. I was not let down.

 

Patricia Jones, Canberra – August 2016 – Sarria to Santiago

The availability of information on your website and through your staff was really helpful and that all went to plan during the walk. your choice of accommodation along the walk was fantastic, each place different, authentic, just loved it.

 

Judy Moore – August 2016 – Full Camino

I found Raw Travel to be extremely professional at every contact. Our Camino was everything that we expected and more, this was largely possible because of all the hard work from the people at Raw. I would highly recommend Raw!

 

Michael Kinninmont, Sydney – August 2016 – Full Camino

A wonderful experience from start to finish. Thanks for everything Tori!!!

 

Penelope de Cuyer, WA – August 2016 – Full Camino

The challenge of walking up the Pyrenees and getting to the top and the view was spectacular. The camaraderie of other pilgrims and hearing their stories. The rural hotels especially Hotel Rural Latorrien de Ane where the staff were very obliging and O Muino de Pena where we enjoyed a delicious degustation dinner.

The local RAW Travel contact, German met us at the beginning and end of our Camino and answered our questions and shared a drink with us.

 

Lani Van Dalsen, Brisbane – August 2016 – Full Camino Women’s Trip

I think it is quite unique as a walking experience. As always it depends very much on the individual and your perspective. I would recommend this to all people who love walking and meeting people from all over the world.

 

Renee Harrington, Massachusetts USA – August 2016 – Camino de Finisterre

I had a fantastic trip. The experience was great and I feel so happy that I completed the journey. See our feet hanging over the edge of the Earth enjoying the BEAUTIFUL sunset!! Thank you for organizing our holiday. Now, I can move to something else!! Thanks to you and Mel and the RAW Travel Team for dinner our first night!!! The accommodations were comfortable and the hosts friendly and welcoming!! The sites, food and wine were incredible!! I am thinking Mt Blanc next!!!

 

Cinea Ryan, Canberra – August 2016 – Walk & Cycle Camino Adventure

A trip of a lifetime!

 

Ben Naismith, VIC – July 2016 – Camino Highlights

Walking was a great way to see and experience the country. It really provided time to absorb the culture and beauty. I loved how connected the people were with their heritage. We happened to walk through many hamlets on St James Day and could hear families celebrating through open doors and windows. Their lifestyle, particularly the farmers, appeared unaffected by modern influences. I also loved that each town’s church bells still tolled the time. It was so atmospheric and timeless.

 

Barry Welsby – June 2016 – Full Camino

You delivered exactly what you said you would: the accommodation bookings and luggage transfers all worked with out a hitch.

 

Brenda, NSW – May 2016 – Full Camino Women’s Trip

I loved all of it!! The mountains, the scenery, churches and of course the company of the other ladies. I enjoyed the challenge that presented itself everyday and the great satisfaction of walking into Santiago de Compostella knowing I had walked every kilometer.

 

Sally Bradford – May 2016 – Camino de Finisterre

My walk out to the North Atlantic was magical. At 6:00 a.m. the morning I left my room, the pitch dark and “starkers” I plunged myself into the frigid waters below my hotel. The word that came to mind was “jubilant.”

 

Michele Nardi, NSW – May 2016 – Full Camino

We made it to Santiago, and in the process had a truly wonderful experience. We loved it! Our accommodation was a stand out. The local Mill houses, B&Bs, Rural Hotels were all marvellous…..and the Paradores simply unbelievable!!! The food the wine and the coffee stops made our day! Thank you for the brilliant organization. There wasn’t a single hitch. I have been recommending Raw Travel since we embarked on our journey, and even more so now we are home.

 

David, Tasmania – May 2016 – Full Camino

Walk of a lifetime: the major highlight would be the friendships and encounters with fellow pilgrims over the five week journey.

 

John, Melbourne, VIC – May 2016 – Full Camino

Very well organised with excellent accommodation and hassle free transfer of our luggage to make our walk as enjoyable as possible. Our pre-trip preparation was essential, especially on the long days! We met other pilgrims who also booked through Raw Travel but stayed at different hotels but they had the same good experience as us. It was a privilege to have completed this walk and to have experienced so much in this unique way.

 

Joanna Phillips, QLD – May 2016 – Full Camino

I enjoyed the blend of gorgeous landscapes, Spanish history, great food and wine, meeting interesting people and the fabulous varied accommodation.

 

Susanne Sutton, WA – April 2016 – Sarria to Santiago

The entire holiday was a huge success, and I would rate having walked the Camino from Sarria to Santiago as being one of the highlights of my life. Everything about the walk, including the accommodation, food and luggage transfers lived up to our expectations.

 

Vere Fairbairn, Witchcliffe, WA – April 2016 – Sj Jean to Logrono

Thank you for organising and making our Camino journey so fantastically special. We finished our walk from St Jean de Pied Port to Longrono last Thursday and were just so sad it was ending there – perhaps we should have gone on to Burgos. Another time. Everything about our journey was so well organised and the information you gave us about what to expect and the training was just so useful. We felt really prepared and fortunately for us nothing went wrong and we made it to Longrono without any injuries or blisters.

 

Sally Bradford – April 2016 – Full Camino

My journey held even more than I could have imagined. Choosing to walk on my own was the right decision for me. I never felt alone with the steady procession of others on the Way. And yet I was free to walk, sing, pray and generally converse with everyone I held in my mind and heart. And those who joined me on the path from time to time.

The accommodation was great, and some even magnificent. Even on my longest sections I was bolstered by knowing at the end of my day awaited a friendly greeting and a warm bed. And many more bathtubs than I could have imagined!

The transport was flawless, and German’s help necessary on two occasions. I can find fault with nothing – even when at the time barking dogs kept me awake and I wanted to scream at the neighbours!

 

Jeffrey Keniry – April 2016 – Full Camino

The Camino is a wonderful experience, more so in hindsight as we reflect on our personal achievement and the great variety of scenery witnessed, from the snowy crossing of the Pyrenees to the seemingly endless meseta wheatfields, to the mountains and verdant forest paths of Galicia . It is remarkable that an 800 km walk passing through countless villages little changed over hundreds of years, and some substantial cities, can be completed with perhaps no more than 30 km of the modern commercial world to contend with.

Spring 2015 Reviews of Walking the Camino De Santiago with RAW Travel

Walked Madrid to Finisterre – July 2015

What a great trip.  The itinerary was 5/5 and the information I received pre – trip was very good.  The Camino was a little easier than I expected and the food and overall experience was great. The work of the RAW Travel team was spot-on and all advice was knowledgeable and correct and I would definitely travel with RAW travel again.

– Brian McDonald, Revesby, NSW

Walked the Full Camino – September 2015

This journey cannot be described adequately by words.  We had the most amazing time and every day was a new exhilarating experience.  We did not want it to end.  I loved every single second of every minute of every day.  Every morning whilst taping my feet in preparation for the day’s walk, I would feel a thrill just contemplating what this new day would present.  Even on the hardest of days, while ascending the toughest of climbs, whether it be in pouring rain or stifling heat, I never for a millisecond wished to be anywhere else. Thank you for all the preparation with the itinerary, booking of hotels, and luggage transfers etcetera for our Camino.  The quality and calibre of your service was a major factor in making this trip for us unforgettable!!  We have sung (and are continuing to sing) the praises of Raw Travel to all fellow pilgrims, as well as anyone we encounter who are contemplating walking the Camino. Your choice of hotels was wonderful.  It was such a relief at the end of our walk each day to know that the accommodation was booked and waiting for us.  The accommodation was always clean and comfortable and in great locations.

– Ed and Jenny Donohue, Frenchville, QLD

Walked Sarria to Santiago – September 2015

This trip was wonderful, never having done anything  like this before. Enjoyed wandering through the Spanish countryside and the pace set was good to get from A to B each day. We did some walks and wore in our boots, and Raw Travel very helpful in the planning and I found the walk at a level I could cope with satisfactorily. The highlights were getting started and walking out of Sarria. Viewing the Spanish countryside and villages daily. Walking into Santiago de Compostela. This was a fantastic experience and an insight into the rural villages in Northern Spain.

– Michelle Kearney, Goondiwindi, QLD

Walked the Full Camino – September 2015

Everything went as planned and the luggage always arrived at next destination.  The accommodation was very varied but always clean and comfortable. Walking the Camino was such a wonderful experience and the highlights were The Pyrenese and meeting so many different people. It was Wonderful, enlightening and created so many delightful memories.

– Jane Taylor, Lindfield, NSW

Walked Sarria to Santiago – September 2015

Overall this trip was a 10/10 and the physical difficulty was as expected. It was a wonderful trip. All RAW accommodation and luggage transfers worked seamlessly making the trip a proper holiday. We would use RAW Travel again.

– Lee Herms, Hamilton East, NSW

Walked Sarria to Santiago – September 2015

There were 8 of us travelling together and we all agreed that we could not have had better accommodation on the trek. We were thrilled with everything that RAW Travel had organised for us. This was our 2nd trek with RAW Travel and would definitely use them again. I can highly recommend them to anyone wishing to walk the Camino.

– Kaylene Cameron, Maroochydore, QLD

Walked Sarria to Santiago – September 2015

The tour was everything I hoped it would be, sometimes even better. The physical difficulty was as expected. It was a great trip which provided a sense of achievement. Arriving in Santiago was a highlight as was mass in the cathedral. I enjoyed the people we walked with and met along the way. The local scenery, villages and the food was also a highlight.

– Pamela Bishop, East Malvern, VIC

Walked the Full Camino – September 2015

Overall the trip was fabulous. The planning and knowledge from RAW was faultless and overall we were really happy with the trip. We have already recommended RAW to others. For the most part, the accommodation was fantastic and the overall itinerary was great. We did need to contact Daniel in Spain a few times and he was great. Pre-trip we received lots of contact and informative updates and this was the perfect amount of contact ahead of such a big trip.

The highlights were

1. Completing it
2. The friendships formed along the way
3. The simplicity of long-distance walking.

– Kelly Hawkins

Walked St John to Logrono – October 2015

I loved the ease of this trip –  having baggage transfer & accommodation organised for us. The scenery, small villages, meeting the local people as well as other pilgrims was fantastic. All our queries either via email or phone were always dealt with promptly and will enthusiasm.

– Jillian Murphy, Beeliar, WA

Walked Sarria to Santiago – October 2015

The itinerary was 5/5 and we loved it and luckily we had lovely mild weather.  Liked the variety of accommodation and very happy with the places we stayed in. All went really smoothly. We liked the pace of the walk and the fact that the length walked each day gradually increased so that we built our fitness level while also having time to enjoy the towns we stayed in. The highlight was walking through small villages and listening to the sounds around me as well as the food and wine and the people of Spain. As novice walkers RAW travel contributed to a great experience that suited our pace with varied, clean and well located accommodation.

– Ann Martin, Northbridge, NSW

Latest Reviews of Walking the Camino De Santiago with RAW Travel

Walked Sarria to Santiago – May 2015

Overall a great experience. Highlights were amazing.

– Jennifer Facciolo Kew VIC

Walked Sarria to Santiago – May 2015

Wonderful, thoroughly appreciated the path and the journey.Our 115 kms suited us perfectly from Sarria, it was just the right distance for us 70+yr olds. Loved the countryside and appreciated the history. We found walking a great meditation, calming, clearing, energising etc. Found all our accommodation superb, especially the converted homes and gentlemen’s residences. A wonderful, contemplative time made even better by superb accommodation & thoughtful organization.

– B Ann and Michael Court (Crafers West SA)

Walked Sarria to Santiago – May 2015

All aspects of the trip were great. From the bookings, the trial weekend walk on the Great Ocean Road, the documentation received prior to the walk, the arrangements on the walk and the walk itself were first rate.The walking distances were very manageable and the accommodation, maps, transporting of bags, breakfasts etc were all good.The pre-planning and information received was very good and very informative. This was a trip which covered so many wonderful aspects of living. In a physical sense it was brilliant; a lovely country, lovely people, lovely walk. In a spiritual sense I took my time and discovered a great deal more about myself.

– B Ann and Michael Court (Crafers West SA)

Walked Pamplona to Santiago – May 2015

As first time walkers with limited time, this was a good initial section of the Camino. Smooth accommodation and luggage transport arrangements and good weather. Daniel was great in Santiago. Training was very worthwhile. Highlights were the cooler weather, green countryside, charming villages hotels and people. Great entry level experience – leaving me wanting more and wanting to give more.

– Christopher Meibusch (Toowoomba QLD)

Walked St Jean Pied de Port to Santiago – May 2015

Was impressed that luggage arrived each day with no slip ups. All accommodation was clean. Liked that most rest days accommodation was a little special. Walking the Camino was an adventure which was made easier by the smoothness of luggage transfers and good accommodation.

– Sharon Anne Holley Ashmore QLD

Walked St Jean Pied de Port to Santiago – May 2015

The Camino walk helped us to realize a dream we have had for a number of years. We will hold very fond memories of the people we met and journeyed with from all around the world, the quaint cobblestoned villages and the Spanish people who welcomed us along the way. We were very happy with our itinerary, the rest days in between and the hotels at which we stayed were a nice mixture. There wasn’t one place we stayed at that I wouldn’t recommend. Your advice to us about how to prepare was effective as was your information that you sent to us that we needed to use while we were on the walk. Distances to be walked were achievable. Both written and phone connections were good in preparing us for the Camino. I loved the views, the plazas, the birdsong and the freedom of walking at my own pace – meeting different people from all over the world – and in all of this doing something physically rewarding for my body. Luggage labels and baggage transport service worked well. I found the raw travel team accommodating, efficient and very knowledgeable. Their advice was apt on and the support they gave was very helpful when needed. The warmth of the Spanish people and the history and respect given to pilgrims walking the Camino were a highlight. Buen Camino!!

– David and Nerida Murray (Stafford Heights QLD)

Walked Sarria to Santiago – May 2015

The scenery was brilliant, the accommodation good, the walking was great. The camaraderie along the Camino made it special. Knowing our accommodation was booked took any worries on that front out of the equation. Luggage transfers worked well. Having an extra night in Sarria gave us time to mentally get ready for the walk, with the excitement of seeing others already on the Camino. Having some shorter days at the start of the walk got us into the whole experience without pain. The overnight stops were good with opportunities in most places to mix with others and experience the towns.Trip notes and accommodation location maps were good. Mel was good to talk to before booking with her knowledge and enthusiasm. A highlight was the scenery which was more green and verdant than I expected. It was beautiful. I also enjoyed meeting other pilgrims on the trail and sharing time with them. The pilgrim’s mass in Santiago was a wonderful conclusion to the whole experience. It was soft Camino, but it was our Camino, and an experience we will never regret or forget.

– Douglas and Pamela Toms Buderim QLD

Walked Sarria to Santiago – May 2015

Everything just worked beautifully & the whole experience was awe inspiring.It was ideal for our fitness level with the daily distances just right. Every aspect of our Camino worked perfectly thanks to the arrangements made so well by Raw Travel.

– Lindsay and Kaye Ilton McCrae VIC

Full Camino April 2015

We are well on our way on the Camino. Our first day, Monday 27th April, was a horror day with teeming rain all day and sleet and fog over the mountains. We don’t know of anyone who stayed dry. Thank goodness for Icebreaker clothing. Cool, overcast days since then have been great for walking and the scenery and wildflowers amazing.

We really just wanted to contact you to thank you for the standard of accommodation we have had so far. It has been brilliant and so good to arrive at the end of the day and nearly always find the backpacks already in our room. Especially loved the Hotel Rural Latorrien de Ane last night.

– Mary and Paul Turner (Brisbane, QLD)

Camino trek with Raw Travel – 2015

We have completed our brief Camino trek and wish to thank all of you at Raw Travel for the arrangements made and support given. We had a fabulous time and could have ( should have!) walked on and on. We have plans for more Camino in the future and shall be in touch.  We met with Daniel in Santiago and found him most capable and sensitive to what makes for a great trip.

– Janet Meibusch

Madrid – Santiago May 2015

Stephen and I have finished the Camino and are now continuing our travels in Ireland. We would just like to say thank you to you and the team at Raw Travel for the work you did in organising our Camino Experience. we had an amazing time. All the accommodation that was organised was wonderful and we had no problems with our luggage transfers. Our bags were even delivered to our rooms in most cases! The directions to the accommodation were clear and we had no trouble finding them.
When we first enquired about walking the Camino, I asked a question about being able to access gluten free food, as I am a coeliac. If you get an enquiry like that in the future, please let the person know that in my experience, there are no problems. I carried my own small snacks, but was easily able to find suitable meals for breakfast at all the accommodation and then lunch and dinner at places on the way. At Palas de Rai, hotel Casa Benilde, they even had a labeled gluten free selection at the breakfast buffet. The owner of this hotel was an exceptional host.

Once again, thank you to all at Raw Travel.

– Elizabeth and Stephen Dale (Bundaberg, QLD)

Sarria to Santiago May 2015

The accommodation excellent, great locations and a variety.
RAW Travel was most informative and we had plenty of material to assist us. The highlight was the people I met on the way, the Spanish people themselves, mastering some Spanish to assist with interaction. Spending time with my oldest friend and sharing it and it gave me time to take stock of where I’m at in life and make some adjustments.

– Louise Brennan (Horsham, VIC)

Leon to Santiago,  April / May 2015

Overall this trip had great hotels, good distances each day, good friends as companions, great country,scenery, and food. The hotels were chosen in great locations and the hotels were also great. I gained fitness on walk which wasn’t too steep but rain and cold was unexpected. The highlight was O Cebreiro and the history of towns and especially the excavations at casto de castomajor. Also the Santiago markets and museum.
We had magnificent service and a great experience.

– Peter Whelan (Nighcliff NT)

St Jean pied de Port to Logrono – Sarria to Santiago guided trip – May 2015

Just wanted to let you know what a wonderful trip we had and especially to tell you how good it was having Sol to guide us. She was always so professional and informative and nothing we asked was ever a problem. Her knowledge of the history and culture of Spain and she was Basque added to our enjoyment of the trek. Thank you also for arranging everything, I couldn’t fault anything and will certainly recommend Raw Travel.

– Deidra Robertson, Sarah Sullivan (Adelaide, SA)

Reviews (2014) of Walking the Camino De Santiago with RAW Travel

Sarria to Santiago – Winter walker – Mother and Son, Dec 2014

Raw travel provided a very personal service via phone calls and emails. I really appreciated the phone call just before we left Australia to see if we had any last minute questions. The information sent out in the pack was very comprehensive and covered everything.
My 14 year old son and I had a wonderful experience. We were expecting some rain and it to be quite bleak given that we were travelling in the middle of winter but we had the most glorious weather that was just perfect for walking. The whole walk was so beautiful and peaceful given there were very few other walkers at this time. The distances we walked each day were achievable and felt to be just the right length for the day. The hotels were comfortable and clean. We had a local taxi driver who was always reliable and helpful with luggage.

I had done some reading prior to leaving and the notes sent out from Raw Travel gave a good description of the terrain and the ascent heights for the day so it was as expected. The last 100kms of The Camino is so well marked – no chance of taking the wrong path.

Highlights

  1. The walking through the beautiful hamlets in glorious sunshine
  2. Spending a traditional Spanish New Years Eve at a beautiful house on a lake at Arzua
  3. Arriving in Santiago de Compostela and attending the Mass at the cathedral

There were no low points, but just for other people to be aware when travelling late Dec/early Jan that there are very few cafes open for lunch/toilets in the little villages along the way.
We had a wonderful time with beautiful weather, scenery and a real sense of experiencing a different culture and are now thinking of doing a longer section of The Camino.

– Rosemary Falconer (Brisbane QLD)

Tailor Made Walk and Cycle Camino, Sept 2014

Because we prepared our own itinerary, Mel at Raw Travel was very helpful in finding appropriate accommodation in each of the places we wanted to stop. Everything went according to plan, accommodation was quite varied and all good to great, the bikes were in Burgos as planned, and luggage was transferred from one accommodation to the next as planned.

The itinerary we planned ourselves.  Only walked or rode for 4 consecutive days then had a rest day to give us time to recover, give our feet a rest and have time to explore the regions more leisurely.  Using the bikes across the Meseta provided a change of pace and the terrain wasn’t too difficult for riding.

This trip was much harder than we expected. We had done 4 months preparation – but this wasn’t sufficient preparation for the Spanish landscape – much more mountainous and continually up and down, in some place extremely steep.  Where we fell down, was walking for 5 – 6 hours day after day.  Our advice to someone else would be to take a week off before they go and undertake a full week of walking every day.  We found 20km to be an acceptable distance.  Longer distances became more difficult.  Also I’m 61 (reasonably fit), so this may not be the case for younger people.

Highlights:

  1. We fell in love with Viana.  On arrival some celebration in the church just finished and the town was alive with people all dressed up. Great restaurant which served pilgrim meals from 6.00pm – great.
  1. The initial walk from St Jean to Valcarlos was through absolutely beautiful countryside.
  2. The meal served by the host at Casa Rural Roan was the most beautiful meal we had in Spain.

This holiday was one of the best experiences we have ever had and the feeling of accomplishment on arrival in Santiago was so rewarding we plan to do something similar in the future.

– Corrine Gyuris (Zilzie Heights QLD)

Walk and Cycle Full Camino (Raw Travel), Aug 2014

Walking/bike riding the Camino de Santiago was an experience of a life time and is one of the most memorable and personally fulfilling holidays I have ever had. Thank you for helping me achieve this.

We took the track for the Camino walkers which was very difficult with washed out waterways etc. In talking to other bike riders along the way they had used the made roads for majority of journey. We wanted to take the actual Camino track but weren’t aware of the level of endurance required.
However, there were many highlights so will try to list the top 3:

  1. Walking over the Pyrenees – it was the most wonderful experience for beauty, getting into the feel of what the Camino de Santiago is about and testing endurance levels.
  2. The food people and nightlife of Pamplona and were very glad to had 2 nights stay there.
  3. Walking into Santiago and arriving at the Cathedral for the Pilgrim mass at 12 midnight – I had a very deep sense of spiritual wellbeing and achievement. I wanted to hold onto that feeling and remember it.

– Gabrielle Hanson (Wallan Victoria)

Camino De Santiago (Raw Travel),Tailor made Camino walk September 2014

Enjoyed the experience beyond my expectations. First stage (Pyrenees) more difficult than expected. Enjoyed the Villages, local friendly / helpful people. Commeradie along the walk was wonderful.
Villages and basic way of life. Hotels were excellent.

– Graeme Hall (Keilor Victoria)

Camino De Santiago (Raw Travel), Walking, Tailormade Birthday Package, June 2014

We are back in Australia now after a wonderful holiday and we are very grateful that we booked through an Australian company RAW travel especially when we had the delay to our flight from Rome to Santiago on 25 June which in turn this delayed our start on the camino. We we very grateful for your help in changing our arrangements and would highly recommend the whole adventure to others.
All the accommodation was great particularly the off the track ones.Food was great and hosts were friendly too.

– Kim Voss (Hawthornedene SAColwell)

Camino De Santiago (Raw Travel), Walking, Full Camino, May 2014

We loved the slow pace of our holiday and meeting people from all over the world. We loved getting to know what life in country Spain is really like. The countryside was so beautiful and there was not a day where we were bored or over the walk. The itinerary was 98 percent perfection. There was a change to the hotel/town on day 18 and the choice was fantastic. The lady who ran the hotel could not do enough to help us.

– Sharon Allen (Inverloch Victoria)

Camino De Santiago (Raw Travel), Sarria to Santiago May 2014

Everything went according to plan and the meals and accommodation were excellent.

– John Trevillyan (Parkdale Vic)

Camino De Santiago (Raw Travel), Walking, Sarria to Santiago May 2014

Many thanks to the staff at RAW Travel for doing such a great job of organising it for me. I particularly liked staying in the old stone houses converted to modern hotels. Excellent service, interesting itinerary, helpful staff eager to help in planning the trip, good accommodation selection, everything went pretty much as planned.

– Robert Beamish (Point Clare NSW)

Camino De Santiago (Raw Travel), Walking, Sarria to Santiago May 2014

I would like to say thank you for all your work in making the arrangements for Kathy and me for our Camino Walk. We had a great time. The transfer of our luggage went without a hitch with our suitcases waiting in our hotel room each afternoon when we arrived at our stop. The accommodation was excellent and the hosts at the hotels were friendly and helpful.

The Camino provided us with a great experience and this was greatly assisted by having RAW Travel coordinate our accommodation and baggage transfer which enabled us to really enjoy the walk without the worry.

– Marie and Kathy (Melbourne Vic)

Camino De Santiago (Raw Travel), Walking, Full Camino May 2014

I want to send you the biggest THANK YOU ever for letting me have the time of my life. Everything, and I mean everything just worked. And every day on my arrival I only got to hear “Hola Dorothea”. It was pure magic. Thank you for looking after me.

– Dorothea Colombo (Cape Town South Africa)

Camino De Santiago (Raw Travel), Pamplona to Logrono April 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful trip you customised for us.

Everything was organised perfectly.  Accommodation was great with The hotels you arranged were great, lovely boutique hotels with character. Taxis turned up on time and bag pick up and delivery was efficient. It was good to be able to rely on RAW travel’s experience on the best walking tour and good accommodation. The customised itinerary was exactly what we asked for with helpful staff who were able to prepare our itinerary at short notice.

– Ainslie Smith (Currumbin Valley Qld)

Camino De Santiago (Raw Travel), Walking, Full Camino April 2014

Having just returned from Europe and experiencing a wonderful Camino, we contact you to congratulate your company for their organisation of our trip, and to commend you on the way it all went without a single hitch. Our luggage was always at our accommodation when we arrived, and the rooms were always ready for us. The standard of accommodation exceeded our expectations, and was mostly in excellent locations, and the range in type of accommodation was interesting.

– Judy and Graham Quintal (Beecroft NSW)

Camino De Santiago (Raw Travel), Walking, Roncesvalles to Santiago March 2014

Am very glad that I engaged Raw Travel to map out an itinerary and book accommodation and luggage transport on the Camino Frances as it took a lot of stress out of the trip for me. Raw Travel made the trekking experience much easier and worry-free.

– Jane Lynch (Macquarie Park NSW)